RSS Feed

Pals Paper Arts 165, Sneak Peek & Display Project

Posted on

Good morning my awesome followers! How was your Saturday? Mine was very nice, I went into Manhattan to meet my friend Kim and we had lunch at the Boat House in Central Park and then had a nice relaxing meander through SoHo. Sometimes having no particular plan is the best plan! Here is a little picture taken from Bow Bridge of the lake. There were a lot of people out on the row boats yesterday.

Bow Bridge Central Park Doi

All in all a very nice day! For today’s post I have my Pals Paper Arts card for this week’s challenge and I also have the first of my Display Stamper Projects to share with you at the end of this post. First here is the sketch for this week’s Pals…

PPA 165

For the base of my card I used a piece of Smokey Slate Card Stock. The papers are from the Winter Frost Designer Series Paper Stack* and the one on the right is backed with a piece of Costal Cabana, I also flagged the piece of DSP on the right at the bottom. The image is from the Festive Flurry Stamp Set* and is stamped in Pool Party and cut out with the coordinating Festive Flurry Framelits Dies*. For the greeting I used one of the sets that I got from Convention,  the Tags 4 You Stamp Set*, stamped in Smokey Slate and punched out with the Label Bracket Punch*. Both the snowflake and the greeting are mounted to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I really love the colors in the Winter Frost DSP and all of the coordinating Framelits and Punches from the new 2013 Holiday are great! You can start placing your orders from the new Holiday Catalog this Thursday and also order a set of the new Thinlits Card Dies too! Thank you so much for stopping by to see my Pals Paper Arts card for this week’s sketch challenge. Don’t forget, after the supply list is the first of my Display Stamper projects from Convention. Have a great Sunday!

PPA 165

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Smokey Slate, Costal Cabana and Whisper White

Designer Series Paper: Winter Frost DSP Stack*

Ink: Pool Party and Smokey Slate Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Sets: Festive Flurry* and Tags 4 You* Clear Mount

Framelits: Festive Flurry*

Punch: Label Bracket*

Tools: Big Shot, Paper Snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

*2013 Holiday Catalog (August 1st)

2013 Display Card

Display Stamper Hello, Lovely 1

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Baked Brown Sugar, Strawberry Slush and Very Vanilla

Ink: Baked Brown Sugar and Strawberry Slush Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Set: Hello, Lovely Clear Mount

Tools: Simply Scored, Simply Scored Diagonal Plate, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Current Promotions:

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Designer Series Paper – buy three and get one FREE until July 31st!

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

Coming soon – Thinlits Card Dies! A fast and easy way to make a flip fold card! Available August 1st! Click here for the PDF.

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

20 responses »

  1. Both cardsare absolutely gorgeous, Justin, but I particularly love the layering on the PPA sketch card. How inspired! The colors and patterns work so well with each other. I think you have a winner here! Glad you had a carefree, relaxing day yesterday. Hope today is just as good.

    Reply
  2. Wow, your holiday card is great! Love the papers, and the greeting layers so perfectly on the snowflake. Card #2: Are you crazy? That was definitely an exercise in patience to perfectly stamp all those images between the score lines. Very impressive.

    Reply
  3. Love both cards, especially the Display one. I too love my Stamp-a-ma-jig!
    Glad I found your blog!

    Reply
  4. Pastor Lorie Betz

    Both cards are beautiful. I also love my Stamp-a-ma-jig. Especially before we had the clear stamps. I giggled when I read about your Saturday. I am from Wisconsin and the high here yesterday was 59 degrees. I do some volunteering at a local nursing home and they had chosen to have their annual picnic for family and friends yesterday. The residents were so cold!!! But everyone was outside and tried to have a good time.
    I make cards for them for birthdays and holidays so I am sure they all say Hi.

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Pastor Lorie! My Stamp-a-ma-jig is my best friend! Glad you had a giggle from my story! I would find 59 degrees a little cold! That’s very nice that do volunteering and make cards for them, I’m sure they appreciate it. Thank you so much for stopping by! Enjoy the rest of your day! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Both cards are aewsome. I do think you are a stamp-a-ma-jig expert to line all those little squares up – very impressive. How long did it take you to do all of them. Wow.

    Reply
  6. I am so glad, you are doing, non-Traditional colors for Xmas cards! Very nice!
    I’ve been wanting to do this for awhile, but you know how that goes, when wanting to try new things!
    I do want to tell you, I’ve learned alot from you, and you have really inspired me. Like taking chances, out of character sort of things. You differently have a Keen Eye!!!
    Thank You!

    Reply
    • Thank you so very much Vicki! I really don’t like red and green for Christmas, except occasionally. Christmas is tons of different colors! I know how wanting to try things goes too. I have been meaning to play with the banner set I got a month ago but life just gets in the way! LOL! You are not alone!

      Thanks again for stopping by! I’m honored to inspire you! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Ginger Toivonen

    Love your PPA card Justin! And meeting you at Convention makes it even more fun to visit your blog. Thanks for playing with the PPA Challenge this week .

    Reply
  8. Wow Justin!! Beautiful card!! Love the layers and use of the DSP!! Fabulous job my friend!! Thank you for playing with us at PPA!!!!

    Reply
  9. Justin I love the Snowflake Card! I melt whenever I see snowflakes. Great job! Thanks for playing with us this week.

    Reply
  10. love these! i’m a huge fan and recently starting following you. your work is great and inspirational! – Sandhya, http://www.livinwide.com

    Reply

Leave a comment