RSS Feed

Pals Paper Arts 178

Posted on

Dinner and a movie was a good time last night. Heather and I had some Chinese food and then we watched The Heat with Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy, it was hysterical! I’m off to Manhattan this morning, hopefully it won’t be too cold, I would like to take a little walk along the river. It’s supposed to be sunny so let’s hope the weather holds up!

Today I have my card for this week’s Pals Paper Arts challenge. This time they have given us some neat colors to work with…

PPA 178

All of the colors are in the Soho Subway DSP so I decided to do a Christmas card with a slightly vintage feel. The base of my card is Summer Starfruit Card Stock and I used the Post Card Stamp, stamped in Early Espresso and backed with a piece of the Soho Subway Designer Series Paper for the background. The greeting is heat embossed in Early Espresso on a Crisp Cantaloupe tag and is from the Christmas Messages Stamp Set. A leftover piece of Vanilla Bakers Twine from a kit make the bow and some Stampin’ Dimensionals adhere it to the card. My three ornaments are from the Christmas Collectibles Stamp Set and are stamped in Early Espresso, Crisp Cantaloupe and Summer Starfruit. I used the Christmas Ornament Punch to punch them out and they too are adhered with Stampin’ Dimensionals. You know how I love a non-traditional Holiday card and this one definitely fits the bill. Thanks so much for visiting with me today to see my Pals Paper Arts card for this week’s color challenge. I hope that you have a very nice Saturday! 🙂

Pals Paper Arts 178-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Summer Starfruit, Very Vanilla, Crisp Cantaloupe and Early Espresso

Designer Series Paper: Soho Subway

Ink: Early Espresso, Crisp Cantaloupe and Summer Starfruit Classic Stampin’ Ink

Specialty Ink: Versa-Mark

Embossing Powder: Early Espresso

Stamp Sets: Post Card, Christmas Collectibles and Christmas Messages Clear Mount

Punch: Christmas Ornament, Itty Bitty Shapes Pack

Embellishments: Very Vanilla/Crumb Cake Bakers Twine

Tools: Heat Tool, Stamp-a-ma-jig, 2-Way Glue, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Christmas Messages CM

Christmas Collectibles CM

Postcard CM

Christmas Ornament Punch

Early Espresso Stampin' Emboss Powder

Current Promotions:

Pop & Place Holiday Gift Tags and Stamps are a great way to get all of your holiday tags done quickly! You can purchase just what you need; tags, stamps or one of two bundles! The stamp set is Photopolymer so that makes placement easy. Another great thing is that all of the tags shapes are made from Punches and Framelits so if you want to add more it’s easy! They also make a great gift! Click here to order yours today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two latest ones are Map It Out and Greetings From. There is also a special Halloween set! It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

Thinlits Card Dies! A fast and easy way to make a flip fold card! Available August 1st! Click here for the PDF.

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

35 responses »

  1. Gorgeous – 100 times over!

    Reply
  2. Who’d of thought to use these colors for Christmas? (Only you)! Excellent, magnificent, extremely brilliant! Way to go Justin! Stay warm. Donna from PA.

    Reply
  3. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEK Christmas AND Summer Starfruit in one sentence just didn’t go in my mind… but noooooooooooooooooo you found a way to make it work!
    That is just brilliant!

    Reply
  4. It really is fun how you made these colors work for Christmas! I love the trio of ornaments and the tag. Thanks so much for joining us at the Pals Paper Arts this week.

    Reply
  5. Love this card. I must get that Post Card stamp. Awesome.

    Reply
  6. I love what you did with the Post Card stamp and ornaments. I never would have thought to pair them. Awesome!!

    Reply
  7. Hi Justin—this is a beautiful card. I love the way you put this one together…the colors, the ornaments and your choice of sentiments…just a lovely card! Enjoy your weekend!

    Reply
  8. The only word I can think of to describe this Christmas card is unique! Whoever thought Crisp Cataloupe would work for Christmas? Amazing!

    Reply
  9. Hi there, cool card! It’s not a color scheme I often come across on cards.

    And yeah, The Heat was hilarious. I didn’t even expect to laugh that much. It had so much crude humor.

    Enjoy Manhattan! 🙂

    Reply
  10. Two great creative minds coming up with the same thing ! I have been thinking of using my Post Card back ground stamp for a Xmas card also ! Whoa …what fresh trendy colors for the big season …..Great card ..loving those ornaments ! Hope you are having fun today !

    Reply
  11. Oooohhh!! Ahhhhhh! Another awesome card, Justin! I don’t even like the Summer Starfruit color and you completely sold me with this card. Brilliant pairing and fun design!

    Reply
  12. Very unique and out-of-the-ordinary card Justin. Nothing to do with ‘traditional’ yet absolutely awesome! Hope you had a fun day and looking forward to some pictures tomorrow.

    Reply
  13. You captured “vintage” perfectly. I immediately thought of the movie “A Christmas Story”. All that’s missing is the leg lamp!

    Reply
  14. Justin: This is so cool! I so want to case this! I have all the ingredients for this card but never came up with the right design. It takes a very crafty engineer. Awesome! TFS.

    Reply
  15. Another great card with the post card background stamp! Absolutely love it, very unusual and very classy Christmas card! Thanks for sharing, Claudia

    Reply
  16. WOWZERS! I would have never imagined this color combo as a Christmas Card! A big woot-woot to you for thinking out of the box! Thanks for playing in the color challenge this week!

    Reply
  17. Wow! Fabulous use of stamp sets and tools! I LOVE this card. Beautiful design; truly a work of art! Thanks for sharing with us at Pals Paper Arts this week!

    Reply
  18. Pingback: Pals Paper Arts 179 x 2! | jk cards

Leave a comment