RSS Feed

Just Add Ink 192

Posted on

Before I even get started with today’s post, I wanted to sincerely say thank you to all of my blog readers who reached out and invited me over for Thanksgiving. It looks like instead of having a movie day, I might be traveling across the country all in a day this year! It really brightened up my day and I definitely have all of you to be thankful for this year!

As far as Fridays go, yesterday was a really good one. I escaped from work at 1 o’clock, came home, had lunch and made a card. Andrew came by, we went out for a really great sushi dinner and then went to Sandy’s and made some framed art for Christmas. Not an easy project by any stretch of the imagination and I have to tell you, I was more than impressed with Andrew’s project. In fact, I have posted both of our projects below. Can you tell which one is mine and which one is Andrew’s? Let me know in the comments. Also remember, he’s only made one card before this!

JK Frame-WM

AD Frame-WM

Today I have my card for the lovely ladies over at Just Add Ink. This week they have given us a color challenge…

JAI Colors 192

I have to admit that when I first saw the colors, I immediately thought of the New York Mets. So to clear that thought of my head, I decided to go with flowers and butterflies. I used Tangerine Tango Card Stock for the base of my card and the background is a piece of Island Indigo that is embossed with the Perfect Polka Dots Textured Impressions Embossing Folder. All of the stamped images are from the Polka-Dot Pieces Stamp Set and are stamped in Tangerine Tango. The flowers are punched out with the 1 3/4″ and 1 1/4″ Scallop Circle Punches, the butterflies are punched out with the Elegant Butterfly Punch and all of the images are adhered to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. The greeting comes from the Lots of Thanks Stamp Set and is stamped in Tangerine Tango and it is cut out with one of the elements from the Circle Card Thinlits Die. Not an overly complicated card, but it’s kind of neat what you can do with just one stamp set and a simple greeting. I got past the Mets colors and really enjoyed the way the card came out. Thanks a lot for stopping by to see my card for this week’s Just Add Ink color challenge! I’m off to Manhattan now and if the weather holds up I will have some fun pictures for you tomorrow! I hope you have a superb Saturday!

JAI 192-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Tangerine Tango, Island Indigo and Whisper White

Ink: Tangerine Tango

Stamp Sets: Polka-Dot Pieces and Lots of Thanks Clear Mount

Thinlits: Circle Card

Embossing Folder: Perfect Polka Dots

Punches: 1 3/4″ and 1 1/4″ Scallop Circle and Elegant Butterfly

Tools: Big Shot, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Lots of Thanks CM

Polka-Dot Pieces CM

Elegant Butterfly Punch

1 1:4%22 Scallop Circle Punch

1 3:4%22 Scallop Circle Punch

Perfect Polka Dots Texture Embossing Folder

Current Promotions:

It’s time for Stampin’ Up!’s Annual Holiday Sale!! Save up to 50% on select item November 20th thru December 2nd! Hurry before it’s too late!! Click here for a PDF of the flyer!

Pop & Place Holiday Gift Tags and Stamps are a great way to get all of your holiday tags done quickly! You can purchase just what you need; tags, stamps or one of two bundles! The stamp set is Photopolymer so that makes placement easy. Another great thing is that all of the tags shapes are made from Punches and Framelits so if you want to add more it’s easy! They also make a great gift! Click here to order yours today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two latest ones are Map It Out and Greetings From. There is also a special Halloween set! It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

Thinlits Card Dies! A fast and easy way to make a flip fold card! Available August 1st! Click here for the PDF.

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

36 responses »

  1. I think the top one is yours Justin. It is a bit more precise with the layout on a few squares. Both art pieces are wonderful just the same.

    Reply
  2. The framed art is great- you are such a good teacher that I can’t tell them apart. I will guess that yours is the second one. Great card too. Hope it doesn’t rain in NYC today!

    Reply
    • Thanks Marty. He’s pretty talented! It’s actually a nice day, a little chilly but nice. Enjoy your Saturday. 🙂

      Mine is actually the first one! 😉

      Reply
  3. Hi Justin! Love these works of art! They are both done really well, just guessing that Andrew’s is the second one? You’ll have to let us know. The card in today’s post is beautiful…more stamps sets I need to get! Have a fun time in Manhattan and I’m hoping you get some great pics for us all! Enjoy the day!

    Reply
  4. The framed art is beautiful! I really can’t tell the difference except the stockings are facing in different directions.

    Reply
  5. Love, love, love the framed art! I guessed yours was #1, but Andrew’s is definitely one to bne proud of…..really great work. Loved your card, and looking forward to seeing you at Thanksgiving 🙂

    Reply
  6. Whoa Justin – those framed art pieces are fabulous! What size are they and please, are you going to tell me you made those in a single night? I’m pretty sure the top one was yours but Andrew did do a fantastic job. What amazing Christmas gifts those framed pieces would make. The entire project just blew me away! I especially love the use of the glitter paper. So bright and cheerful! Oh, before I forget, you did a great job with the Just Add Ink challenge. Have yourself a wonderful weekend.

    Reply
    • Thanks Grace! Yes, we made them in about 3 hours! Mine is the top one, yes he did a pretty amazing job for his second paper crafting venture! Glad you like the card too! I hope your weekend is great! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Wow, I can’t tell which framed art is yours – just goes to show you that anyone can stamp. 🙂 and it doesn’t take a professional to make great cards and projects. Love your card. I finally got that Polka Dot stamp set. Think I might case your card and use it. Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

    Reply
  8. My vote for yours is the top one. Agreeing with Heidi, precise placement. Andrew’s is not that far behind yours. Great job Andrew! Thinking stamping is in your blood. You have a good teacher in Justin. Tangerine Tango just pops those flowers right off the Island Indigo. So cheery looking. Like how you pulled together the Polka Dot EB with the dots in the flowers.
    Hope you had a nice brisk stroll through Manhattan is you got there. Thank you for the well wishes on my husband’s surgery.

    Reply
    • Yes Lisa, you are correct! Andrew said to tell you thanks! Thank you, good students don’t hurt! The card was fun to make. I am having a brisk but good stroll. Enjoy your evening!

      Reply
  9. I guessed the top one is yours too, one circle was not quite in the centre which made my decision, otherwise there were no clues. Great job Andrew, great teacher though too. Enjoy your weekend.

    Reply
  10. Love the framed artwork Justin! Andrew obviously has a great teacher as I really can’t tell these apart. Love your reasoning for getting away from the Mets image in your head for our colour challenge! It worked a treat! Thanks for playing with us at JAI this week ♥

    Reply
  11. Andrew is giving you a run for the money. Both are great, but I guessed yours is the first one. I like that Andrew’s stocking is facing the other way.
    I love, love, love the JAI card! It is so right up my alley. Maybe Santa can lend you his sleigh and a few reindeer to make your Thanksgiving rounds! Enjoy the rest of your weekend. I’m looking forward to your photos. Nancy B

    Reply
  12. I love all those happy Tangerine Tango flowers, Justin. Nice use of the challenge colours! Andrew did an amazing job; I guessed his was the second piece, only because of the spacing.

    Thanks for playing along with us at Just Add Ink this week!

    Reply
  13. Looks like Andrew is a rising star! I chose the first one as yours because the stocking is hanging the right way – just a minor detail, but both look great to me.
    I love your blossoms and butterflies card. It’s refreshing to see non-Christmas offerings once in a while.
    Question – how come I’m not getting your email reminders anymore. They stopped about a week ago. Now I have to remember on my own 🙂

    Reply
    • Yeah! Thanks Carol! He’ll be very happy to hear that! Yes, I need a little break from the Holidays every once in a while! I’ll check and see if I can find out why you are not getting my email reminders.

      Reply
  14. It was fun to meet Andrew and he’s an awesome stamper, a natural! I really can’t tell them apart. What a beautiful card, I really love those polka dot stamps and don’t know why I don’t have them yet!!!

    Reply
  15. Such a lovely girly card with all the butterflies and flowers!!!
    Thanks for playing at Just Add Ink this week.

    Trish
    JAI Design Team

    Reply
  16. I just love these works of art Justin – tell Andrew he should be extremely proud of himself as he has done an amazing job (as have you!). Your card this week is just so pretty – love the arranging of the flowers and butterflies! Great use of the challenge colours – thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink this week!

    Reply
  17. I think you both did a wonderful job, 2 works of art! So glad you found somewhere to spend Thanksgiving Justin, l’m sure it will be much more enjoyable than a movie day..:0)
    You’ve done a great job with the JAI colours, the polka dot pieces set works perfectly. Thanks for playing along with us again this week.

    Reply
  18. I must admit I was hard pressed to pick a difference between yours and Andrew – you both did a fabulous job! I love the festival of polka dots you have for us this week Justin. The cluster of flowers and butterflies makes me think of high summer 🙂 Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink this week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

