RSS Feed

Freshly Made Sketches 125

Posted on

I will start off by saying that it is freezing cold here! Now that I got that out of the way! I had a nice Friday, work was quite calm which is always good for a Friday. I went out to dinner with Bill and Anthony to Friday’s and had some Tennessee Whiskey Cake… YUM! Andrew stopped by for a bit after dinner and this morning I’m off to Manhattan. Hopefully I won’t freeze fast to the sidewalk! LOL! To be honest, I don’t even mind the cold that much when I’m walking around in the city. I will make sure and take some pictures for you tomorrow too. 🙂

Now on to the post. Today’s card is for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches challenge. Our sketch this week is provided by the talented Narrelle…

Freshly Made Sketches #125

While this week’s sketch is really simple, I enjoy it a lot because it allows for so many different interpretations. The base of the card is Basic Black Card Stock and for my background I used a piece of Kaleidoscope Designer Series Paper backed with a piece of Gold Fancy Foil Designer Vellum. My greeting comes from the Yippee-Skippee! Stamp Set, is stamped in Basic Black and is adhered to a piece of Gold Foil Sheet that was cut out with the On Film Framelits Dies. The three gold stars and the chevrons are all cut out from more Gold Foil Sheet from the Circle Card Thinlits Dies. The elements are all adhered to the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals. I really like the way this card turned out because it reminds me of movie clapboard. Action! LOL! My card is just one of the many that could have been made based on this sketch. Sometimes a simple sketch is a great place to start because the possibilities are endless. I hope you have a great Saturday and thanks as always for stopping by to check out my card for this week’s Freshly Made Sketches sketch challenge!

FMS 125-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Basic Black and Whisper White

Specialty Card Stock: Gold Foil Sheet

Designer Series Paper: Kaleidoscope

Vellum: Gold Fancy Foil Designer

Ink: Basic Black

Stamp Set: Yippee-Skippee! Clear Mount

Framelits: On Film

Thinlits: Circle Card

Tools: Big Shot, 2-Way Glue, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Yipee-Skippee CM

Kaleidoscope Designer Series Paper

Gold Fancy Foil Vellum

Silver-Gold Foil Sheets

Circle Card Thinlits Dies

On Film Framelits

Current Promotions:

With our personalized stamps you can create a cool address label or even use it for everything from marking your territory on books or other belongings to having a fun way to give a personal touch to gifts and goodies. Click HERE for a PDF of the flyer.

It’s time for Sale-A-Bration! January 28th thru March 31st get a free product from the 2014 Sale-A-Bration Catalog for every $50 you spend (does not include tax and shipping). Click HERE for a PDF of the Catalog!

Big Clearance Rack Sale starts today! New items added up to 80% off!

It’s here! The 2014 Occasions Catalog is ready for you to place your order! It’s packed with fun trendy products and quick kits! Click on the image in the sidebar and place your order today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The latest one is Sans and Stripes. It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

32 responses »

  1. Beth K. Mills

    Bring on the stars! This is the perfect card for a Thank You for an Oscar’s party!! Or if you attended a broadway show with someone! Love your gold picture frame!! Have a wonderful, warm(!) walk around Manhattan!

    Reply
  2. Hi Justin,
    I was thinking just in time for the Oscars too!!! Another WOW card!! I just love the black and gold! So elegant!! Love it!
    BTW, my husband and I are going into the city next Saturday to see ‘Outside Mullingar’. I am so excited. It’s been close to year since our last Broadway Show. Just praying it doesn’t snow next weekend.
    Enjoy your day!

    Reply
    • Thank you Gerri! I guess subconsciously I was thinking Oscars too! I haven’t heard of that play, I’ll have to look it up. I hope that you have a wonderful time! I keep my fingers crossed for no more snow at all! Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Hi Justin! Have a great time in the city! Looking forward to your pics tomorrow. I love this card! It does remind me of a movie clapboard also! Simple but very elegant at the same time. We are expecting more snow again today, just a few inches. I guess it’ll make all the dirty snow look pretty again. Can you tell I’m trying to find something good about it? 😉 Stay warm!

    Reply
    • Hello Karen!
      I’m having a nice day, but it’s very windy which definitely doesn’t hep with the cold! Thanks! Glad you like the card, I love black and gold together! I feel your pain, we are to get snow tomorrow night and then all day Monday. Hopefully they are wrong and it’s just rain! I certainly can tell you are literally trying to find the silver lining! Have a great day! 🙂

      Reply
  4. This card is awesome by taking a simple sketch and dressing it up to go in any Tiffany window or fabulous movie marquee. Love the use of all the Thinlit pieces! Have a great day in Manhattan. Stay safe and warm. Glad to hear about you wearing gloves…give my regards to Broadway if you are in the neighborhood…Nancy B

    Reply
    • Thank you Nancy! The sketch was a little plain so I used it as a blank canvas! I love all of the elements in the Circle Card and Label Card Thinlits! The wind is definitely making it hard to stay warm. I will give your regard! Enjoy your day! 🙂

      Reply
  5. HI Justin:

    I absolutely, positively LOVE this card. What could be more elegant, exciting or beautiful than black, white and metallic gold? A rhetorical question of course – LOL. If there were a Broadway show for cards this one would be a sell out!

    I am so hoping the new show “Heartbeat-of-Home”, from the people who produced Riverdance which is going to premier in Chicago, comes to Broadway within the next year. If so I will be taking the trip to New Haven to catch the Metro North into Grand Central for sure!

    Have a great day in Manhattan.

    Reply
  6. I love all of the fabulous gold on this, Justin! And the black is a nice accent color for it. Love the movie theme for Oscars weekend. Have fun in the city!

    Reply
  7. Hello Justin,
    Oooh- La- La!! This may be a simple sketch (for you), but you have turned it into an awesome and very elegant card. It is absolutely gorgeous! Love it! By the way, the green feathers are cool.
    I’m feeling much better today than I have been, pains at about a 5. Have a great day! Take care and stay warm! 🙂 Donna

    Reply
    • Hello Donna!
      I definitely needed to dress the card up and what better colors than black and gold to do that with?! Thank you! Yeah! You noticed the feathers too! I’m going to try to remember to change them every month! I’m so happy to hear that you are feeling better!! I hope that you enjoy the rest of your day! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Way Cool! And the Oscar goes to…..Justin Krieger!

    Reply
  9. Very, very nice Justin 🙂 Once again a great use of color and design. Hope the day went well, and that you had lots of fun! Can’t wait to see the photos you have in store for us 🙂

    Reply
  10. Awesome, indeed! Love your take on the sketch. Glad to see you at FMS!

    Reply
  11. Wow, Justin! Great card and amazing details! Love the diagonal striped matting. Thanks for sharing with us at Freshly Made Sketches!

    Reply
  12. This card is a total wow card Justin! I love the elegance of these fab colours together, kind of reminds me of old school Hollywood! Thanks for sharing it with us at Freshly Made Sketches this week!

    Reply
  13. I want to feature your gold accented card with the perfectly slanted sentiment for Trendy Tuesday post at Papercrafters Library next week. The image of your card will credit you and the SU! products and link back to your blog. You can check out the blog at blog.papercrafterslibrary.com If you don’t want to be featured for any reason, please let me know.

    Reply
  14. Pingback: Freshly Made Sketches 126 | jk cards

  15. Pingback: Trendy Tuesday – On an Angle :: Paper Crafter's Library

Leave a comment