RSS Feed

Pals Paper Arts 180 & Pictures!

Posted on

First, I want to thank you all for your comments on the framed art projects. Andrew was quite happy to hear that you thought he did a very good job! He wanted me to thank you all to! 🙂

I had a lovely little walk through Manhattan yesterday despite the chilly temperature and occasional wind gusts! I met my friend Kim for lunch at the diner and then we hung around her apartment for a bit. I decided that I would walk down to Penn Station so I could take some pictures for you guys. All in all I ended up walking seven miles yesterday and I was quite happy with that! I did manage to get some neat pictures on my journey. The first one is of the famous Believe sign that hangs on the front of Macy’s in Herald Square. I took this one in the morning  because I think the lights look better in a picture in the daylight.

Macy's Believe Day

Next up are the pictures that I took on my walk down. First I have the star that hangs over Fifth Avenue.

5th Avenue Star

Next up is Cartier which looks like a big present.

Cartier

And finally a picture that not a lot of people get to see, in fact I don’t remember ever seeing the Rockefeller Christmas Tree like this.

Rockefeller Centre Tree Scaffolding

All of the scaffolding so they can put the lights on. Perfect timing by the NYC Taxi whizzing by! LOL!

Now on to today’s post which is for this week’s Pals Paper Arts challenge. This time around we have a sketch…

PPA 180

I liked my colors for Freshly Made Sketches so much this week that I used them again! The base of my card is Basic Gray Card Stock. For the top half of the background I embossed a piece of Pool Party with the Chevron Textured Impressions Embossing Folder and the bottom half is a piece of the I Am Me Designer Series Paper. I stamped the Filmstrip Stamp in Calypso Coral twice and cut them out, some Stampin’ Dimensionals hold them in place. A piece of So Saffron is flagged on the left side and adhered to the filmstrips with SNAIL. The camera images are from the Around the World Stamp Set, stamped in Real Red and Basic Gray and cut out with my Paper Snips. I used the Small Oval Punch to punch out the greeting from the A Dozen Thoughts Stamp Set and that too is held in place by a Stampin’ Dimensional. I love the little cameras and the Filmstrip Stamp is fast becoming a favorite! Thank you very much for taking some time out of your day to come and see my card for this week’s Pals Paper Arts sketch challenge. I hope that you enjoyed my pictures from Manhattan and that you thoroughly enjoy your Sunday!

PPA 180-WM

Stampin’ Up! products used:

Card Stock: Basic Gray, Pool Party, So Saffron and Whisper White

Designer Series Paper: I Am Me

Ink: Calypso Coral, Real Red and Basic Gray Classic Stampin’ Ink

Stamp Sets: Around the World and A Dozen Thoughts Clear Mount and Filmstrip Wood Mount

Embossing Folder: Chevron

Punch: Small Oval

Tools: Big Shot, Paper Snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals and SNAIL

Around the World CM

A Dozen Thoughts CM

Filmstrip WM

I Am Me DSP

Chevron Textured Impressions Embossing Folder

Small Oval Punch

Current Promotions:

It’s time for Stampin’ Up!’s Annual Holiday Sale!! Save up to 50% on select item November 20th thru December 2nd! Hurry before it’s too late!! Click here for a PDF of the flyer!

Pop & Place Holiday Gift Tags and Stamps are a great way to get all of your holiday tags done quickly! You can purchase just what you need; tags, stamps or one of two bundles! The stamp set is Photopolymer so that makes placement easy. Another great thing is that all of the tags shapes are made from Punches and Framelits so if you want to add more it’s easy! They also make a great gift! Click here to order yours today!

Need some cards quicky? Stampin’ Up! has a brand new kit that allows you to create 20 cards, all you need is some adhesive and you’re all set. Click here for the Everyday Occasion Card Kit!

Make your own stamp! New Undefined stamp carving kit. Available now! Click here for the PDF.

Check out all of the Photopolymer Stamp Sets! The two latest ones are Map It Out and Greetings From. There is also a special Halloween set! It’s a completely clear stamping option you are going to love!

Thinlits Card Dies! A fast and easy way to make a flip fold card! Available August 1st! Click here for the PDF.

About jrk912

I am a tech junkie that loves to engineer some paper!

32 responses »

  1. I have these stamp sets and haven’t used them. Now you inspired me. Loved the pictures of the city. You’re lucky to see NYC at Christmas.

    Reply
  2. Your pictures are wonderful. What a great holiday walk about in the city. Thank you so much for sharing these. Your card theme is fantastic and coordinates perfectly with today’s blog.

    Reply
  3. Great NYC photos, thanks for sharing! Makes me want to take a walk around the city this time of year. Maybe you can take me with you 🙂 Great card, too! Love that film strip stamp.

    Reply
  4. Honestly . . . I was going to say the same things as the above comments, well maybe not take me to NYC! Great minds think a lot. Your narratives are always interesting. I can just imagine your voice talking. I love the card and the two cameras too. The whole card has a lot of thought put into it and it all looks great. Thanks a bunch. 🙂

    Reply
    • LOL! NY is great fun Nancy! I’m happy to hear that all my ramblings are enjoyed too! I’m happy you like the card! I hope you have a wonderful Sunday! 🙂

      Reply
  5. So that’s how they decorate the tree!!! Thanks, I’ve always wondered how they did that.
    Love the camera theme on your card.

    Reply
  6. First time visiting your blog, Justin! Love, love, love the pictures of NYC. Has always been my dream to visit there – maybe someday! Once again, love your color choices for your card. A stamp set I would not have bought for myself but now, having seen your card, maybe I will, lol! Have a good day!

    Reply
    • Welcome Lorena! Glad you enjoyed the pictures! I think everyone should see NYC at least once! It’s a fun set with lot’s of great images! I hope that you day is good too! 🙂

      Reply
  7. I love your photos and your picture-perfect card!

    Reply
  8. What a super fun card Justin! You just have to smile when you look at this one. Thanks for sharing the photos from Manhattan. In all the years that I have spent going there any number of times each year, I have never been in Manhattan at Christmas time. In fact, I’m sad to say, that I have never seen the Christmas show with the Rocket’s at Radio City Music Hall. Even I can’t believe it. Shame on me. AND, congrats on your 7 mile stroll. That is amazing to me.

    Reply
    • Thank you Grace! I’m glad that you enjoyed the Manhattan pics! You definitely have to come into the city around Christmas, it’s sort of magical! I only recently saw the Radio City show so don’t feel bad! The walk was great and I fell so good after I do that! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Hi Justin! Thanks for the great pics of NYC…I haven’t been there this time of year so I’ll definitely have to put that on my bucket list. I enjoyed those! Your card is great–how can you not smile looking at it? So there’s that filmstrip stamp again…I need that! Enjoy your day, hope you get into your stamp room!

    Reply
    • Hi Karen! Welcome! I’m glad that you enjoyed them! Yes, you must make a trip, best to come in December, then everything is up. The Filmstrip is quite versatile! I’ll be in the stamp room all day! Too windy to be outside! I hope you get creative today too! 🙂

      Reply
  10. Great pictures of NYC – thanks for sharing them. Great card to match the tour with the little camera. You didn’t tell us which framed picture was your and which one was Andrew’s.

    Reply
  11. I just love all the colors in this DSP. All the elements of this card are positioned with perfection. Bravo on your paper snipping. Can you tell I love this card? Hope you can. I have visited Manhattan many years ago during the summer. How exciting to see it all lit up for Christmas. I think it would be very interesting to watch the workers string the lights on the tree. Thank you for more wonderful pictures.

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Lisa! Manhattan is definitely fun at Christmas! I agree, I would think they do the light stringing during the day. That’s a lot of lights! 🙂

      Reply
  12. The colors on this card are so perfect-they just reach out and grab me and pull me in! Love ’em! And thanks for sharing you pix from the Big Apple. I’ve only been there once, but I loved the energy I felt there– except when I got chased thru the subway! LOL

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Georgie! I’m glad you enjoyed the pics too. You can definitely feel the energy in the city, especially around the holidays! Getting chased through the subway, not so much! 🙂

      Reply
  13. Thank you for sharing all your wonderful photos! Makes me want to go to NY in wintertime even more! Your card is very appropriate to the theme here. Love those stamps, do have them, have not used them yet. My SIL was telling me that she has bought a punch that is a film strip… can’t wait to see it. I have a little die in the shape of a filmstrip – used it once so far. Need more “free” – “me” time. LOL
    Great card. You are so patient with all the fussy cutting!

    Reply
    • Thank you Louise! The stamps are fun and I love that Filmstrip one, it will go quite nicely with the new Peachy Keen and On Film Framelits from the Occasions Catalog! We all need more free for me time! 🙂

      Reply
  14. Your card is picture perfect! And I love seeing your NYC photos! Those of us up here in the Adirondacks don’t get to NYC much!

    Reply
  15. SUPER card, Justin! Thanks for playing at PPA! LOVE how you worked the sketch!

    Reply
  16. What a wonderful card! Love your use of the I Am Me DSP and the Around the World stamps. The fabulous NYC pics are a definite bonus!

    Reply
  17. Pingback: Pals Paper Arts 181 | jk cards

Leave a comment